Sir Terry Pratchett, Thank You.

Sir Terry Pratchett has left us. I wish that I had been able to meet him because no one else on this planet has unwittingly given me so many gifts. He inspired me to not only try to be a better writer, but a better human. His characters are more human and solid than any others I have ever known, and I feel like even though Terry Pratchett is gone, his characters and his world, are still going strong. They will not bend their backs. The turtle still moves.

I would say that, the world is a darker place now without this man, but he left us so much light through his words that we could not possibly come away with less for having had him. Yet, I and all the thousands who forged a reader/writer bond with him, (those of you have it know what I mean) will not be able to help but feel a hole somewhere in the fabric of our reality where he should be. I think the best we can hope to do to honor his memory is to take his advice.

“If you don’t turn your life into a story, you just become a part of someone else’s story.” – Terry Pratchett (from The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents)

Terry, thank you for everything.  I hope the sandwiches are magnificent.

All of our love,

~Alex

Leave a Reply

