Camera, Brewer’s, WItches

I am quite excited, I just got a beautiful refurbished Nikon d3300. It is shiny and sleek and black, like the ninja of cameras. I picked it out specifically so I can try my hand at astrophotography. I missed taking photographs and have an affinity for the night sky, aversion to bright lights and inability to figure out what colors are happening in my eye sockets, so astrophotography seemed ideal.

I also purchased my first Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable. It is legendary, it is magical, it has a forward written by Sir Terry Pratchett, and is big enough to potentially bludgeon my nemeses with its pages of arcane knowledge. (Although, I admit  it might be more fruitful to sit them down with it instead). I intend to begin a writing “exercise” using one Brewer’s word or phrase a week to trigger an exercise, probably alphabetically.

Allison is nearly done with her first drawing for the blog, I am ecstatic because it is quite beautiful.

In the meantime I will leave you with this.

Witch

I am the witch that lives in the woods
whose flesh is your parchment when I die
gnarled fingers clutching dirt
learning your soles
I can tell you where you’ve been
and if you lay your palm
against my skin
tell you who you’ve loved.

-ADL

Leave a Reply

